Troubleshooting

Click here to access the A-Z List of Databases. This is where you will find the licensed library content: scholarly journal articles, dissertations & theses, ebooks, multimedia and more. The Librarians recommend starting your research in ProQuest Central. Questions? Contact us for help at: library@aspen.edu

Having trouble accessing library resources?

Firewalls

If you are trying to connect to a library database from work, there may be a firewall or filtering software preventing access. Please contact the Information and Technology department at your workplace to check. If you are accessing library resources from home, please consult with the reseller or organization that configured your computer to see if they can help you reconfigure your computer.

I was using a library database and got a message saying that my session has expired.

This sometimes happens after a period of keyboard inactivity. Return to the A-Z Database list and click on the database web link to start again

Browser Settings

Sometimes browser settings can cause problems with the library databases. Most of our databases require these settings to work well:

• Clear history/cache on your computer
• Cookies must be enabled
• Pop-ups must be allowed

Try a different browser if you still can't connect. Certain browsers do not connect well with specific databases.

Firefox
How to clear the Firefox cache
Chrome
Clear Chrome cache & cookies in Chrome
Safari
Clear the history and cookies from Safari on your Mac
Internet Explorer
View and delete your browsing history in Internet Explorer
Microsoft Edge
View and delete your browsing history in Microsoft Edge

Who to contact for assistance outside the library:

The Virtual Librarians manage the content in the virtual library, but not your ability to access and navigate within the D2L platform and your courses.

For advanced technical support in using D2L or in accessing any of the classrooms, please contact classroom@aspen.edu

For non-technical issues related to your program and courses contact, your Academic Counsellor at 1-800-441-4746 or by email: studentservices@aspen.edu.